Technically you don’t need a license to drive a golf cart.
In most states golf carts are considered “low-speed vehicles” and can be driven on public roads with posted speed limits of 35 mph or less.
However just because you don’t need a license to operate a golf cart doesn’t mean that there aren’t any rules or regulations you need to follow.
Most golf carts are classified as either “substantially similar” or “not substantially similar” to low-speed vehicles (LSVs).
Substantially similar golf carts are required to have lamps mirrors brakes tires weather protection ( windshield wipers and enclosures) seat belts and a slow-moving vehicle sign affixed to the rear of the cart.
Carts that are NOT substantially similar only need brakes lamps and a slow-moving vehicle sign.
Golf carts can cross roadways marked for golf cart use but you’ll need to yield to oncoming traffic and pedestrians.
When crossing a roadway enter the intersection from a designated golf cart entry point and travel in the direction of the posted traffic flow. Remember to use extra caution when crossing busy roads or highways.
In some states you must be 16 years old to operate a golf cart on public roads and have a valid driver’s license.
Other states have no minimum age requirement as long as the driver has a valid license.
And still other states allow children under the age of 16 to operate a golf cart with a signed parental permission form.
If you’ll be driving your golf cart on public roads it’s always a good idea to check with your local DMV or police department to find out what the specific laws are in your state.
And even if you don’t need a license to drive a golf cart it’s always wise to brush up on the rules of the road before hitting the pavement.
Can You Drive A Golf Cart Without A License?
As it turns out you can drive a golf cart without a license in some circumstances.
For example if you’re driving on private property or in a gated community you may not need a license.
Additionally some states allow people to operate golf carts on public roads as long as they adhere to certain rules such as obeying the speed limit and not driving under the influence of alcohol.
However it’s always best to check with your local authorities to find out what the specific laws are in your area.
Do You Need A License To Drive A Golf Cart On The Road?
In most cases you don’t need a license to drive a golf cart on the road. However some states have specific regulations governing the use of golf carts on public roads.
For example in Florida you must be at least 16 years old to operate a golf cart on a public street or highway. A
nd in Texas motorists must have a valid driver’s license to operate a golf cart on a public roadway.
So it’s best to check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to find out the specific regulations that apply in your area.